Ref blows Syracuse over-and-back call [video]

It’s been a tough day to be a ref, but the officials blew another one, this time in the Syracuse/Marquette game.

The rule (4.3.8) states:

After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or back court.

Notice that both feet of Scoop Jardine are off the court, and as he catches the ball his foot lands on the line. This should have been a play on, but the ref called a backcourt violation.

The game was tied at 59-59 with 0:52 to play and Marquette hit a three-pointer on the next possession to take control of the game. Marquette won, 66-62.

Follow the Scores Report editors on Twitter @clevelandteams and @bullzeyedotcom.

Related Posts