UFC 143 Results & Recap: Condit Out-Points Diaz

Nick Diaz doesn’t like politics and he doesn’t like losing.

He especially doesn’t like losing over what he thinks is politics.

In the main event of UFC 143 on Saturday night in Las Vegas, Diaz lost a unanimous decision to Carlos Condit for the UFC Interim Welterweight Championship.

It was a close bout from start to finish with Diaz getting off to a fast start and then Condit finding his groove in the later rounds. Each round was debatable, but Condit inflicted more damaged and controlled the pace for the final three rounds. The judges scored the bout 49-46, 49-46, and 48-47 for Condit.

Following the fight, Diaz said he was quitting MMA because he felt he won the fight and Condit did nothing but run from him. Instead, how I saw it was Condit used footwork to stay out of the pocket and then hit Diaz with leg kicks and hooks to win rounds.

Now, with Diaz out of the picture, Condit will face Georges St. Pierre to unify the UFC titles once GSP returns from a torn ACL.

In the co-main event, Fabricio Werdum made a big statement with his dominant decision win over Roy Nelson in the heavyweight division. Known for being a submission specialist, Werdum used his striking to get the victory on Saturday night. Werdum locked Nelson up in a thai clinch in the first round and then worked some powerful knees to Nelson’s face and body that took “Big Country” out of the match.

Over the final two rounds, Werdum did enough to win the round against a tired Nelson. The win was an impressive one for Werdum, who now legitimately thrusts himself into the top 5 of the division alongside Junior dos Santos, Alistair Overeem, Cain Velasquez, and Frank Mir

For complete results from UFC 143, check out the jump.

UFC 143 Results

Mandalay Bay Events Center – Las Vegas

Saturday, Feb. 4, 2012

Stephen Thompson def. Daniel Stittgen by first round KO (4:13) via head kick

Rafael Natal def. Michael Kuiper by unanimous decision

Matt Riddle def. Henry Martinez by split decision

Matt Brown def. Chris Cope by second round TKO (1:19) via punches

Edwin Figueroa def. Alex Caceres by split decision

Dustin Poirier def. Max Holloway by first round submission (3:23) via triangle armbar

Ed Herman def. Clifford Starks by second round submission (1:43) via rear-naked choke

Renan Barao def. Scott Jorgensen by unanimous decision

Josh Koscheck def. Mike Pierce by split decision

Fabricio Werdum def. Roy Nelson by unanimous decision

Carlos Condit def. Nick Diaz by unanimous decision to win UFC Interim Welterweight Championship

Follow the Scores Report editors on Twitter @clevelandteams and @bullzeyedotcom.

Related Posts