It’s going to be a big Saturday in sports

Earlier this week, I took a look at the sports schedule for Saturday and asked my wife, “Please don’t volunteer me for anything on Saturday. It’s a huge day in sports.”

I live in California, so things start early for me. Those of you on the East Coast or in the Midwest have a few hours in the morning to get the husband/boyfriend duties out of the way. Here’s your Big Saturday itinerary:

12 PM ET / 9 AM PT: #13 UConn @ #12 Georgetown (ESPN)
Sure, Georgetown’s loss at Marquette on Wednesday takes a little sting out of this matchup, but a home date with UConn should get the Hoyas plenty focused. Georgetown has a balanced attack (three players averaging 14+ ppg) while UConn is The Jerome Dyson-Stanley Robinson Show. (Side note: The Huskies still haven’t won a game away from home this season.)

1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT: #4 Purdue @ #20 Wisconsin
The Boilermakers face a tough test on the road against the Badgers’ stingy defense. Sadly, this one isn’t on national TV. Bummer.

2 PM ET / 11 AM PT: #5 Duke @ #17 Georgia Tech (ESPN)
Another top 5 team faces a tough road test. This time, it’s The Team That Everyone Loves To Hate who visits a good Georgia Tech squad in Atlanta. The Yellow Jackets’ feshman big man Derrick Favors (currently projected to be the #2 pick in the draft) will battle the Dookies inside.

4:30 PM ET / 1:30 PM PT: Jets @ Bengals (NBC)
The Jets come in surprisingly confident (considering they have a rookie QB who has thrown 20 interceptions this season) after thrashing an uninspired Cincy team in Week 17. Look for the Bengals to play well and take advantage of Mark Sanchez’s inexperience. The Jets have a great defense, so this should be a low scoring affair.

7 PM ET / 4 PM PT: Hawks @ Magic (Fox Sports South)
I know, it’s the NBA regular season, but if the Jets/Bengals game gets out of control, this Atlanta/Orlando matchup features two of the top four teams in the East.

8 PM ET / 5 PM PT: Eagles @ Cowboys (NBC)
All eyes will be on Dallas tomorrow night as the Cowboys try not to suffer another late season meltdown. The Eagles looked terrible in Week 17 — could they possibly play that bad back-to-back? We’ll see. The Cowboys are one of the hottest teams in football right now, but game smells like it will be a close one.

There you go — East Coasters can go to bed while those of us living on the West Coast can take our ladies to a late movie. Good times.


Photo from fOTOGLIF

Follow the Scores Report editors on Twitter @clevelandteams and @bullzeyedotcom.

Couch Potato Alert: Four Top 25 matchups on the docket

It’s a big day for college football, as four BCS-caliber teams face significant tests against good competition:

12 PM: #20 Oklahoma @ #5 Texas – ABC (picks, preview)
3:30 PM: #25 Notre Dame @ #6 USC – NBC (preview)
6 PM: #4 Virginia Tech @ #19 Georgia Tech – ESPN2 (picks, preview)
7:45 PM: #22 South Carolina @ #2 Alabama – ESPN (picks, preview)

All times ET.

Couch Potato Alert (10/12)

Here’s what’s on tap on TV the next few days:

NFL
Mon, 8:30 PM: Jets @ Dolphins – ESPN

CFB
Thurs, 7:30 P M: #8 Cincinnati @ #21 South Florida – ESPN

MLB
Mon, 6:07 PM: Phillies @ Rockies – TBS (Philly leads, 2-1)
Tues, 8:07 PM: Rockies @ Phillies – TBS

NHL
Mon, 8 PM: Flames @ Blackhawks – Versus
Tues, 7 PM: Red Wings @ Sabres – Versus
Wed, 8:30 PM: Oilers @ Blackhawks – TSN

Couch Potato Alert (10/9)

What’s on TV this weekend?

MLB
Fri, 6:07 PM: Twins @ Yankees – TBS (NYY lead, 1-0)
Fri, 9:37 PM: Red Sox @ Angels – TBS (LAA lead, 1-0)
Sat, 6:07 PM: Dodgers @ Cardinals – TBS (LAD lead, 2-0)
Sat, 9:37 PM: Phillies @ Rockies – TBS (series tied, 1-1)
Sun, 12:07 PM: Angels @ Red Sox – TBS
Sun, 3:37 PM: Dodgers @ Cardinals – TBS
Sun, 7:07 PM: Yankees @ Twins – TBS
Sun, 10:07 PM: Phillies @ Rockies – TBS

NFL
Sun, 1 PM: Bengals @ Ravens – CBS
Sun, 4:05 PM: Falcons @ 49ers – FOX
Sun, 4:15 PM: Patriots @ Broncos – CBS
Sun, 8:20 PM: Colts @ Titans – NBC
Mon, 8:30 PM: Jets @ Dolphins – ESPN

CFB
Sat, 3:30 PM: #3 Alabama @ #20 LSU – CBS
Sat, 3:30 PM: Wisconsin @ #9 Ohio St. – ABC
Sat, 8 PM: #1 Florida @ #4 LSU – CBS

NHL
Sat, 10 PM: Canadiens @ Oilers – CBC

Couch Potato Alert (3/31)

NBA
Tues, 7 PM: Pistons @ Cavs (NBATV)
Tues, 10 PM: Jazz @ Trail Blazers
Wed, 8:30 PM: Heat @ Mavs
Wed, 10 PM: Rockets @ Suns
Thurs, 10:30 PM: Jazz @ Nuggets (TNT)

NHL
Tues, 7:30 PM: Blackhawsk @ Canadiens (Versus)
Wed, 7:30 PM: Flyers @ Maple Leafs (TSN)
Thurs, 7 PM: Rangers @ Hurricanes

College Hoops (NIT)
Tues, 7 PM: Baylor vs. San Diego State (ESPN2)
Tues, 9 PM: Notre Dame vs. Penn State (ESPN2)

Related Posts