Rice, Smith head 2010 Hall of Fame Class

Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith, Ricky Jackson, Russ Grimm and John Randle were announced as the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2010 on Saturday.

From ESPN.com:

“I am just honored … to stand up there with greatness,” Rice added.

Smith teared up when speaking about his father and how “I was living his dream.”

“We are blessed to achieve this level of greatness together,” Smith said, referring to Rice.
Rice and Smith each won three Super Bowls and was the MVP in one of those victories. Smith was the 1993 league MVP, as well.

Rice, the NFL’s career receiving and touchdowns leader, and Smith, the top rusher, were joined in the Hall by John Randle, Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, Floyd Little and Dick LeBeau. Little and LeBeau were elected as senior committee nominees.
Smith, among the most durable running backs, rushed for 18,355 yards and 164 touchdowns for Dallas and Arizona.

In an era of me-first players and diva receivers, it’s nice to take a step back and honor Rice. He was one of those players that knew what it took to be great and strived to get there every season. His workout habits are well renowned and I don’t know if there will ever be another receiver like him.

It’s nice to see a player like Jackson get in too. The Saints were one of the saddest franchises in the NFL for a long time yet he played on some top 10 defenses that helped turn things around in the early 90s. The “Dome Patrol” was arguably the best linebacker corps in NFL history.

Photo from fOTOGLIF

Follow the Scores Report editors on Twitter @clevelandteams and @bullzeyedotcom.

Related Posts