Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger (7) is sacked in first half action by Miami Dolphins Cameron Wake at Sun Life Stadium in Miami on October 24, 2010. UPI/Michael Bush Photo via Newscom

The end of the Steelers-Dolphins game on Sunday is a perfect example of why referees need to allow plays to come to their completion before they move on to the next play, a challenge, or what have you.

With the Steelers down 22-20 with less than two minutes remaining, Ben Roethlisberger fumbled the ball while diving head first into the end zone. The refs ruled the play a touchdown, then they reviewed it, determined that it was a fumble, but because none of them bothered to figure out which team recovered the ball in the end zone (it appeared that two Miami players hopped on it but the refs never made a ruling either way), they put the ball back on the 1-yard line. On fourth down, Jeff Reed converted a chip shot field goal and the Steelers went on to win, 23-22.

Football games don’t come down to one play. The Dolphins had their opportunities throughout the day, but they continuously settled for field goals and gave the Steelers a chance to win in the end. But there’s no doubt that the refs hosed Miami. Had they bothered to do their jobs, they would have determined that the Dolphins recovered the ball in the end zone and then after they reviewed the play, they would have correctly made a ruling of a touchback. And the worse part is that all they had to do was determine which team recovered the ball. Their ruling of a touchdown was fine (wrong, but fine), but they didn’t allow the play to run through its completion and there’s no excuse for that.

Instead, they screwed the pooch and they handed the Steelers a gift win. Granted, we don’t know what would have happened in that final minute and change. Maybe the Dolphins would have turned the ball over and the Steelers would have won anyway. Who’s to say?

But the fact that they weren’t given that opportunity is on the refs and I wouldn’t be surprised if the NFL reviewed the situation and offered Tony Sparano an apology.

Not that an apology replaces a loss in the standings.

Update: Big Ben says he was holding onto the ball at the bottom of the pile. Even if that’s the case, the refs should have determined who had the ball and made the correct ruling.