Epic goalkeeper fail [video]

Hat tip to The Last Angry Fan for finding this video.

Here’s your weekly “soccer goalie fail,” courtesy of goalkeeper Sammy Bossut of Zulte Waregrem of the Liga Belga, the top soccer league in Belgium.

Sammy attempts to clear the ball when he inexplicably hangs onto it, before losing control of it, allowing the ball to roll behind him—right into the waiting feet of Lokeren’s Benjamin De Ceulaer, who scores the second goal of the game.

I wouldn’t say Bossut ‘inexplicably’ held onto the ball. He did so because the Lokeren player crossed in front of him just as he was about to throw it. That’s why he was looking around in confusion after the play.

Can someone better versed in the rules of soccer/futbol explain whether or not this should have been a foul. I don’t think you’re supposed to interfere with the keeper when he has the ball.

Still, it’s pretty funny.

Follow the Scores Report editors on Twitter @clevelandteams and @bullzeyedotcom.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>