Was McDyess’s tip-in goaltending?

Check out Antonio McDyess’s tip-in at the buzzer to beat the Lakers last night at Staples Center.

Was it goaltending? Lakers fans think so, but a quick read of the NBA’s goaltending rules leads me to believe that it wasn’t:

Section I-A Player Shall Not:
a. Touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is using the basket ring as its lower base.
EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket.
b. Touch the ball when it is above the basket ring and within the imaginary cylinder.
c. For goaltending to occur, the ball, in the judgment of the official, must have a chance to score.

The view from the side shows that the ball was coming off, but I think it was still in the imaginary cylinder when McDyess’s hand touched it. However, as part “c.” states, if the official did not think it had a chance to score (which it didn’t), then it cannot be goaltending. This appears to supersede the fact that the ball may have been in the cylinder.

Spurs win.

Follow the Scores Report editors on Twitter @clevelandteams and @bullzeyedotcom.

Related Posts

2 responses to “Was McDyess’s tip-in goaltending?”

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>